Company Network Admin Guide: Storage Management Policies

Network Administrators can create Storage Management Policies to instruct Ci to automatically:

  • Move files to the trash,
  • Archive files or
  • Permanently delete files

These actions can be configured in isolation or used together for more comprehensive storage management.  Since no two teams are alike, Storage Management Policies can be configured for each Team Workspace. These powerful features are an excellent way to clean house and reduce costs but it is important to ensure that each Team is aware of the policies that are in place.

Archive and Trash policies support two different options:

“After create date”

Files will be archived or trashed a specified number of days after they were created (this includes files that were uploaded, copied in, or generated from MediaLog or RoughCut). For archive policies, files that are restored will not be re-archived until the specified period of time has passed since the file was restored. For trash policies, files that are untrashed will not be re-trashed until the specified period of time has passed since the file was untrashed.

“After last activity”

Files will be archived or trashed a specified number of days after they were downloaded, restored from archive, untrashed, added to a MediaBox or added to a WorkSession

The delete policy supports a single option:

“After trash date”

Files will be deleted a specified number of days after they were trashed.

Note: All policies are applicable to previously created files along with any new files. Actions on previously created files will be initiated soon after this policy is set (if they meet the criteria defined in your policy).

To configure the policies, follow these steps:

— When logged into Ci, click on the user avatar, then click "Account Settings".

Screen_Shot_2020-03-22_at_8.49.22_PM.png

Figure 1: Navigating to Account Settings  

— On the Account Settings page, click on the Company Network name to expand the list of available settings.   Then click "Team Workspaces", and click on a Workspace you want to set up with Storage Management Policies.

— On the resulting Workspace settings page scroll down to Storage Management: 

Screen_Shot_2020-03-22_at_8.57.22_PM.png

Figure 2: Storage Management settings on the Workspace Overview page

— After any of the Storage Management Policies are set, make sure to click "Save Changes". 

Note: A Network Admin does not have to set all three policies.  For Example, if the goal is to retain files but reduce storage costs, simply use the Archive Policy.  If a Team is using Ci primarily to acquire content which is only needed for a short period of time, using a combination of a Trash Policy and a Delete Policy is a good course of action.  Files can be automatically trashed after a configurable number of days and then permanently deleted a set number of days after they are trashed.

For any additional questions around the Storage Management Policies feature, please reach out to the Ci Customer Success team through the Help Center.

 

 

Have more questions? Submit a request